OUTGROW YOURSELF, RELATE TO OTHERS

 

BEACH. “Friends are the most important ingredient in this recipe of life.”

“How good and pleasant it is when brothers live together in unity” (Psalm 133:1).

            One of the most rewarding things in the entire world is to relate well to other people. You can build great bridges, create a masterpiece in oils, compose an oratorio, write a bestseller, go to the moon, invent ingenious machinery; or do many other things—but nothing you accomplish is of much value unless it has relevance to other people.

            When I trudged forward into a bigger and challenging stage of life, college, I was a little bit frustrated and worried. The thought of having a new circle of friends from different walks of life was again another phase to deal with and to relate with. Suddenly, there was like this soft voice murmured on my ear and whispered, “Don’t be worried. Instead be grateful and excited for you are now going to a place, a place where you build strong foundation that will benefit you in reaching your goals in life.”

And that moment came. And I realized that yes, I had nothing to worry about. I was not an outcast that time. I was able to relate to some of my comrades and I was able to share my same interests with them because I think one of the greatest things we can learn in life is to relate to other people. And just as we need the right key to unlock any door, so are there keys to understanding and getting along with people.

It is very fulfilling to know some people from different places and learn from them. By having a leisure time with my pals, somewhat like eating together at the crowded canteen, walking together at the hallway, playing together with our favorite sports during PE hours, and lastly, teaching each others about very difficult and nerve-wracking topics in Chemistry are some ways for me to being so related to them. We are indeed unified. The happiness I feel is undeniably priceless and a treasure to keep for a lifetime.

I notice that when I don’t relate to someone as their greatness or their highest self, when I instead see their faults or see them as their fear-based self, that it causes them to relate to me the same way. That is, they then see me as MY fear-based self instead of as the powerful and loving person I know myself capable of being.

People are God’s masterpieces. He could not be satisfied even when He had created the heavens and the earth and every living thing. So He said, “Let us make man.” And God wasn’t making a mistake. He created man in His own image (Genesis 1:26). This is how much God thought of man. Undoubtedly, one of the reasons He created man was to have someone with whom He could fellowship, because we read in the Bible that God had fellowship with Adam. God was relating to what? He was relating to human beings.

“Each friend represents a world in us, a world possibly not born until they arrive, and it is only by this meeting that a new world is born.”
– Anais Nin

2 thoughts on “OUTGROW YOURSELF, RELATE TO OTHERS

    • And thank God for giving me confidence, for all the people He uses as an instruments for me to uplift more my socialization skills and to boost my self-esteem..because before I considered myself as an outcast. I rarely talked to people, but Im just so glad now that I overcome already my shyness. =)

This is not a perfect article. Feedbacks are well-appreciated. Jot it down!

